home       our artistes        headlines        up-coming tours         Loudon's gigs        bloodygreatpr        collectables        contact
       
     
     
   



They’re hotter than a mink in Malta and after taking America by storm, The Way Down Wanderers make their long-awaited UK debut to give us all a taste of what it is that projected them to the top of the American roots music tree with their blistering brand of pop-laden bluegrass that has kept the diehard traditionalists happy while attracting a young crowd of followers to fall into their infectious groove.

“They grabbed me from the first track”
– Spencer Leigh, Country Music People

“Listen to something different”
– Paul Strange, Acoustic magazine

“A talented bunch – a band to watch!”
– Peter Churchill, AmericanaUK

“A joyous free spirit – set to become festival favourites”
– Allan Wilkinson, Northern Sky magazine

"A welcome breath of fresh air in roots music - a young band that could be destined for great things"
– Mike Morrison, (AmericanRootsUK)

"We are really liking this"
- Ricky Ross, BBC Radio Scotland

 
Wed Nov 22: Studio Session - Another Country with Ricky Ross, BBC Radio Scotland, Glasgow
Thurs Nov 23: Birnam Arts, Perthshire
Fri Nov 24: CatStrand Arts centre, New Galloway
 
Sat Nov 25: Tumbleweed at Seven Arts, Leeds
Sun Nov 26: Selby Town Hall
Mon Nov 27: Rest Day
Tues Nov 28: The Forge, Anvil Arts, Basingstoke
Wed Nov 29: FREE
Thurs Nov 30: No 8, Launceston
Fri Dec 1: Grayshott Village Hall, Surrey  
Sat Dec 2: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers
Sun Dec 3: Whitstable Sessions, Kent  
Mon Dec 4: Rest Day
Tues Dec 5: The Green Note, London
Wed Dec 6: The Atkinson, Southport
Thurs Dec 7: Acoustic Music Club, Kirkcaldy
Fri Dec 8: Otley Courthouse
 
Sat Dec 9: Performing Arts Centre, Kilbarchan
 
       
     
     
   


Red Tail Ring from Kalamazoo are fast becoming the most talked about duo on the American roots music circuit. After releasing their latest album on this side of the Atlantic, they attracted a lot of well-deserved attention too.

Reviewing the record at fRoots magazine, deputy editor Sarah Coxson said they were “sublime,” while Songlines magazine described them as “beguiling – full of Southern warmth.”

“Do yourself a favour and check them out,” said Paul McGee at Lonesome Highway (Ireland) and Acoustic magazine’s Julian Piper called them “earthy and heartfelt.”

 
Fri Jan 19: Celtic Connections Festival, Glasgow
Thursd Feb 1: Acoustic Music Club, Kirkcaldy
Fri Feb 2: The ‘Live’ Room, Caroline Club, Saltaire
Sat Feb 3: The Forge, Anvil Arts Centre, Basingstoke
Sun Feb 4: The Pump House, Louth
 
Mon Feb 5: Rest Day
TuesFeb 6: Kitchen Garden Café, Kings Heath
Wed Feb 7: The Atkinson Theatre, Southport
Thurs Feb 8: Woodend Gallery, Scarborough
Fri Feb 9: Roots Music Club, Doncaster
Sat Feb 10: Café #9 Sheffield
Sun Feb 11: Green Note, London (with The Brother Brothers)  
 
   
 
       
     
     
   



Juno award-winning Canadian supergroup The Fretless (2017 Instrumental Album of The Year) also picked up two nominations in the Canadian Folk Music Awards (Best Contemporary Album and Instrumental Group of The Year).

The accolade was great news for a band that continues to grow in stature around the world, seen by many as one of the most powerfully charged forces on the roots music circuit.

Previously, they had gathered in some similarly impressive honours on their home turf but it took the release of the current album, Bird’s Nest, to win them the attention they deserved on this side of the Atlantic. Consistently given four and five-star ratings, Songlines magazine loved its “plethora of thrilling moments” while fRoots magazine placed them “in the elite category.”

 
Tues January 23: Green Note, London 
Thurs January 25: Celtic Connections Festival (St Andrews in the Square) 
Fri January 26: The Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal
 
Sat January 27: Celtic Connections Festival (Royal Concert Hall New Auditorium) with Cara Dillon
Sun January 28: Whitstable Sessions, Whitstable, Kent  
 
 
 
 
 
       
     
     
   



Those with fingers on the pulse of what’s happening Stateside, are already aware of the reputation developed by The Brother Brothers from stunning live performances that have had the grapevine buzzing.

It’s rare for so many other well established acts to be collectively singing the praises of their contemporaries but that’s what has been happening in the USA with Lake Street Dive, Sarah Jarosz and Lindsay Lou & The Flatbellys all openly declaring themselves to be big fans. At last the UK will get a chance to experience what it is that has been winning them so much valuable attention.

There’s a new album on the way after their debut EP created such an impact. Sarah Jarosz said they were “a joy to behold,” Folkwords declared: “put these two together and magic happens,” Songwriting magazine described their music as “bewitching,” while Rock n Reel magazine said the record was an “exquisite” collection, and writing at AmericanaUK, Peter Churchill said they had “the tightest harmonies you are likely to hear this year.”

 
Tursday February 1: Celtic Connections Festival, Glasgow
Fri February 2: Celtic Connections Festival, Glasgow
Sat February 3: Jumpin Hot Club, Newcastle-upon-Tyne (venue tbc)
Sun February 4: Woodend Gallery, Scarborough
Mon February 5: FREE
 
Tues February 6: Pembroke Intimate Gigs even (venue tbc)
Wed February 7: Llantrisant Folk Club
Thurs February 8: The Chapel at The Art Shop, Abergavenny
Fri February 9: Love Folk Fest, The Atkinson Theatre, Southport
Sat February 10: Regather Works, Sheffield
Sun February 11: Green Note, Camden (with Red Tail Ring)
   
 
       
     
     
   



Michigan songbird Lindsay Lou returns to the UK with her band and a brand new album to promote. The popular four-piece had previously taken Shetland Folk Festival and HebCeltFest by storm on previous visits and after flying in for their own (sold-out) headline show at Glasgow’s Celtic Connections in 2017, they soon became the talk of the town.

Writing about his encounter with the band in a double-page spread at fRoots magazine, Tim Chipping said he almost made the mistake of opting out from catching them live, explaining: “I’m told that the band was called Lindsay Lou and The Flatbellys. Their name sounds silly and I think about leaving. After three songs, I’m convinced I have seen the most affectingly expressive singer since Amy Winehouse, backed by the new Punch Brothers.”

The band was included in the BBC 2 TV Highlights show that was filmed at the city’s Royal Concert Hall on the opening night.

 
Tues Feb 6: The Wardrobe Theatre, Bristol
Wed Feb 7: FREE
Thurs Feb 8: Green Note, Camden, London
Fri Feb 9: The Ropewalk, Barton on Humber
 
Sat Feb 10: Greystones, Sheffield
Sun Feb 11: The Stables, Wavendon, Milton Keynes
Mon Feb 12: Rest Day
Tues Feb 13: FREE
Wed Feb 14: Victoria Hotel, Menai Bridge
Thurs Feb 15: Grand Pavilion, Porthcawl
Fri Feb 16: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers  
Sat Feb 17: Long Street Blues Club, Devizes
Sun Feb 18: Jumpin Hot Club, Newcastle-upon Tyne  
Mon Feb 19: Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Tues Feb 20: Centre for Contemporary Arts, Glasgow
Wed Feb 21: FREE
Thurs Feb 22: The Tolbooth, Stirling
Fri Feb 23: Universal Hall, Findhorn
 
Sat Feb 24: Eastgate Theatre, Peebles
Sun Feb 25: Mareel, Lerwick, Shetland
Mon Feb 26: Rest Day
Tues Feb 27: Performing Arts Centre, Kilbarchan
 
 
 
       
     
     
   



Following her hugely successful return to these shores for a run of tour dates in 2017, many of which were sold-out events, Mississippi Delta songbird, Bronwynne Brent returns with a brand new album to promote.

Now firmly established as a major force, Bronwynne ended 2016 on a high, carrying off the Best Female Performer title in the annual Reader’s Poll at the influential AmericanaUK website for the second year running.

Bob Harris has continued to champion her at BBC Radio 2 and highlights of her ‘live’ appearance on Roddy Hart’s Quay Sessions have been widely viewed.

Bronwynne’s spine-tingling vocal style has been compared to Billie Holiday, Peggy Lee and Amy Winehouse - a remarkable singer-songwriter who simply oozes class. She was flown in for a headline appearance at The Tron Theatre during Glasgow’s Celtic Connections festival in 2016 and recorded a BBC studio session at Whispering Bob’s invitation.

 
Thurs March 1: Kingsmead Sessions, High Wycomb
Fri March 2: The Live Room, Saltaire
Sat March 3: The Hut, Goathland, Whitby
 
Sun March 4: Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
Mon March 5: Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Tues March 6: Performing Arts Centre, Kilbarchan
Wed March 7: The Atkinson Theatre, Southport
Thurs March 8: Rest Day
Fri March 9: Roots Music Club, Doncaster
Sat March 10: Tumbleweed at Seven Arts, Leeds  
Sun March 11: Kitchen Garden Café, Kings Heath
Mon March 12: Rest Day  
Tues March 13: Green Note, Camden, London
Wed March 14: Old Ship Inn, Lowdham, Notts
Thurs March 15: The Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal
Fri March 16: North Newbald Village Hall, Nr Beverley, Yorks
Sat March 17: Woodend Gallery, Scarborough
 
Sun March 18: Top Secret Blues Festival, Scarborough
 
       
     
     
   



When they first emerged, Irish Music magazine said of their debut EP: “Consider this your early warning system…there is something serious on the horizon and that creative storm is Connla.”

They had already been crowned Best New Group in the ‘Live Ireland’ 2016 Awards then carried off Best Vocal/Instrumental Album of The Year accolade too. RnR magazine called the collection “astonishing and intoxicating.”

When they played Glasgow’s Royal Concert Hall during the Celtic Connections The Scotsman awarded them a 5-star review.

Over the past year, they have toured in the USA, Germany, and the UK (several times). The band ended 2017 on a high when Songlines magazine placed their River Waiting CD in the Number 1 position of their Top Ten Essential Irish Albums – a list that contained many of the big names of the genre.

 
Sun Apr 1: Kitchan Garden Café, Kings Heath, Birmingham
Mon Apr 2: FREE
Tues Apr 3: Pembroke Intimate Gigs (venue tbc)
 
Wed Apr 4: Atkinson Theatre, Southport
Thurs Apr 5: The Pump House, Louth, Lincs
Fri Apr 6: Grayshott Village Hall, Grayshott, Hindhead, Surrey
Sat Apr 7: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers
Sun Apr 8: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers (afternoon)
Mon Apr 9: Rest Day
Tues Apr 10: FREE  
Wed Apr 11: Green Note, Camden, London
Thurs Apr 12: The Ropewalk, Barton upon Humber  
Fri Apr 13: Village Hall, Coldingham
Sat Apr 14: St Cuthbert’s, Seahouses
Sun Apr 15: Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
Mon Apr 16: Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Tues Apr 17: Performing Arts Centre, Kilbarchan
 
Wed Apr 18: FREE
Thurs Apr 19: Acoustic Music Club, Kirkcaldy
Fri Apr 20: FREE
Sat Apr 21: FREE
Sun Apr 22: FREE
 
       
     
     
   



Roots music hotshots Woody Pines have wowed the crowds on both sides of the Atlantic and last time they toured the UK, reviewers unanimously declared them to be one of the most entertaining acts on the Americana circuit.

These Muddy Roots Records stars count BBC Radio 2’s Bob Harris as a fan - he invited them to appear on the stage he hosted at the C2C event in London’s 02 arena.

The trio was one of the headline acts flown over to Scotland to take part in Glasgow’s Celtic Connections mid-winter bash three years ago, included for their “fiery moonshine spirit that sparkles with feelgood freshness”.

This is a band that counts some other big hitters as fans, including Outlaw Country legend, Billy Joe Shaver. When he followed them at the big Nelsonville Folk & Blues Festival, Billy Joe and came on stage declared: “They’re the best damn band I’ve ever heard!”

 
Thurs April 26: Acoustic Music Club, Kirkcaldy
Fri April 27: Glenbuchat Hall, Strathdon
Sat April 28: Woodend Barn, Banchory
 
Sun April 29: Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
Mon April 30: Edinburgh (venue tbc)
Tues May 1: Eyemouth Hippodrome
Wed May 2: Eastgate Theatre, Peebles
Thurs May 3: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (venue tbc)
Fri May 4: South Holland Centre, Spalding
Sat May 5: Selby Town Hall  
Sun May 6: Kitchen Garden Café, Kings Heath, Birmingham
Mon May 7: Rest Day  
Tues May 8: Green Note, Camden, London
Wed May 9: The Old Ship Inn, Lowdham
Thurs May 10: The Pump House, Louth
Fri May 11: Long Street Blues Club, Devizes
Sat May 12: Snails Deli, Cardiff
 
Sun May 13: The Ropewalk, Barton on Humber
Mon May 14: Rest day
Tues May 15: The Red Room, Cookstown
Wed May 16: Crusoe’s Castlerock
Thurs May 17: Raheen House Hotel, Clonmel
Fri May 18: The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely
Sat May 19: Seamus Ennis Centre, Naul  
Sun May 20: PI Gigs, Pembrokeshire, Wales (venue tbc)
Mon May 21: Rest Day  
Tues May 22: Square Tower, Portsmouth
Wed May 23: The Studio at TPS, Petersfield, Hants
Thurs May 24: FREE
Fri May 25: The Cube, Malvern
Sat May 26: Square and Compass, Worth Matravers
 
Sun May 27: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers (afternoon)
Mon May 28: Fishery Wharf Café, Boxmoor, Herts
Tues May 29: Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
 
       
       Find us on Facebook    Copyright © Brookfield Knights 2010 - Site by Dialogue Web Design Edinburgh